Is Chick-fil-A Halal? (Everything You Need to Know)

Is Chick-fil-A Halal

With the recent surge of interest in halal food and its availability, many people wonder if Chick-fil-A is among many restaurants offering Halal options. So, is it possible to enjoy a meal at this popular fast-food chain without compromising on your dietary requirements? To answer this question, let’s take a closer look at what Chick-fil-A has to offer.

Is Chick-fil-A Halal?

Unfortunately, Chick-fil-A is not halal. They do not source their chicken from certified halal suppliers and do not follow Islamic standards when preparing it. This means that their chicken sandwiches and nuggets are not halal. For customers who follow a halal diet, it is best to avoid these items.

Why Isn’t Chick-fil-A Halal?

As was stated by their customer support agent, Chick-fil-A does not follow Islamic dietary standards due to the high diversity of their customer base. They can’t accommodate all requests and preferences, so they chose to focus on providing quality food products instead. Therefore, they cannot guarantee that their food is suitable for those observing a halal diet.

Additionally, the chain uses ingredients such as pork and alcohol in its food. These ingredients are not allowed according to traditional Islamic dietary laws, which is why Chick-fil-A is not considered halal. 

Although some locations do source their chicken from certified halal vendors, there’s no guarantee it hasn’t been in contact with pork products. So, it’s best to stick with items that aren’t prepared with pork or other haram ingredients if you want to be sure.

Was Chick-fil-A Ever Halal?

Chick-fil-A has never advertised its products as halal. Still, some locations gained popularity in the Muslim community due to their use of halal chicken suppliers. One of them was in Houston, Texas. This was possible since each restaurant had the freedom to choose its own suppliers and ingredients.

However, Chick-fil-A does not have any official policy regarding halal standards, so it’s impossible to know if these locations are still using certified halal suppliers. 

Are There Any Halal Items on Chick-fil-A’s Menu?

Since Chick-fil-A focuses on serving chicken-based items, there isn’t a lot of variety for halal eaters. However, the chain does offer some side dishes that don’t contain haram ingredients. These include:

  • Fruit cups,
  • Salads,
  • Muffins,
  • Hash browns,
  • Waffle potato chips.

You can hardly call it a full meal, but it’s still a better option than nothing. To be sure these items are available at your local restaurant, it’s best to contact them directly and ask. Plus, you might find additional halal options not listed on the menu.

What Religion Is Chick-fil-A Based on?

Christianity. The company’s founder, Truett Cathy, was a devout Christian who based Chick-fil-A on strong Christian values. This includes closing all restaurants on Sundays, which is a policy still upheld to this day. The whole company is also dedicated to giving back to the community and supporting causes dear to their faith. 

What Restaurants Do Offer Halal Food?

Since Chick-fil-A is not a halal option, so you will have to look elsewhere for your needs. Luckily, plenty of restaurants prepare food according to Islamic dietary laws. Here are the examples.

Crown/Kennedy Fried Chicken

This restaurant has a large menu of delicious fried chicken, burgers, and sandwiches that are all prepared according to Islamic standards. They advertise their meat to be strictly halal and have even received certification from the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America.

Elevation Burger

According to the official corporate Twitter and Facebook accounts, this restaurant chain serves halal beef. Plus, the beef is also certified organic, grass-fed, and free-range. So, not only is it halal but also healthy to boot!

Halal Guys

The restaurant name says it all – these guys are the experts on halal. They offer gyros, falafel and chicken over rice that is not just halal, but also delicious. With locations across the US, a Halal Guys restaurant could be just around the corner.

Krispy Krunchy Chicken

Being a certified  halal franchise, Krispy Krunchy Chicken offers delicious fried chicken to all its customers. The Islamic Society of the Washington Area attests that their chickens are  slaughtered with Muslims reciting basmalah, the Islamic prayer

Subway

Lastly, Subway also offers halal meals. Their menu consists mostly of sandwiches and salads, but you will be able to find some delicious meat options that adhere to Islami dietary rules. Plus, all the meat they use is approved by the Islamic Council of Britain. So,  you can be sure it’s halal. 

Conclusion

So, is Chick-fil-A Halal? The answer is no. The chain does not adveriise their products as such and does not have any official policy in regard to halal standards. Therefore, it is best to look for other sources of halal food. Thankfully, there are plenty of restaurants that offer halal meals and snacks, so you will have no trouble finding a great place.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *